The 51st Annual Red Smith Sports Award Banquet honored six local high school students for their athletic achievements on Tuesday, January 19, 2016, at 6:30 pm at the Radisson Paper Valley Hotel in downtown Appleton, Wisconsin. Each student received a $1,500 scholarship.

Nicholas Vande Hey of Xavier High School and Alex Gerhardt of Fox Valley Lutheran High School will each receive a scholarship funded by the generosity of BMO Harris Bank.

Megan Schweitzer of Appleton East High School, Grace Garvey of Appleton North High School, and Michaela Braun of Appleton West High School will each receive scholarships generously funded by J.J. Keller Foundation, Inc.

Both the J. J. Keller Foundation, Inc. scholarship winners and the BMO Harris Bank scholarship winners are selected based upon athletic excellence, academic success and community service.

Mikayla Sipiorski, of Xavier High School, will be awarded the Danny Ornstein Memorial Scholarship. The Danny Ornstein Scholarship is funded by the Friends of Danny Ornstein and honors students who have contributed to athletics in a supporting role. “The committee is honored to read all of the applications every year. Our final decisions are never easy; the dedication these scholarship recipients have to their teams, their education, and our community are commendable. ” said Scholarship Co-Chair Cassie Curry.